Classification of igneous rocks - JavaLab

Classification of igneous rocks

Igneous rocks are rocks formed from molten magma. The material is made liquid by the heat inside the Earth’s mantle.
Igneous rock occurs in two ways.

  • Slow cooling:
    Igneous rock formed from magma that has become solid inside the earth is called intrusive igneous rock. Examples of intrusive igneous rock types are gabbro, diorite, and granite.
  • Fast cooling:
    Igneous rock formed from lava that has become solid outside of the Earth is called extrusive igneous rock. This can happen because of the eruption of a volcano. Some extrusive igneous rock types are basalt, andesite, rhyolite, tuff, obsidian, and pumice.

Igneous rock table